The Electro-Map Menagerie → Chicago By Night

July 23, 2007

Marina by night taken by ɹɐǝʇuǝʌ1ǝ

Since Chicago is my new adopted home I thought it best to start the Electro-Map tour here. Scott Howard has created an elegantly simple portrait of Chicago by night which is comprised of 194 individual photos, all taken within a 58 minute period on the night of a full moon. This zoom-able, scalable composite photo is more like a still-life than anything else. You can almost count the number of books on people’s shelves in the Ebony Jet building, yet every lamp-lit room is mysteriously empty.

I’m also very fond of his daytime overhead shot of Machu Picchu. I have never been, but several years ago I visited a friend’s parents who had just returned from a trip to Peru, and I think it’s the only time I’ve wished that someone’s home videos would never end. They showed me sections of a lengthy train ride, and I am a sucker for trains…my favorite way to travel. None of the nausea of buses or cars & so much easier to appreciate the scope of a landscape.

Machu Picchu by Matito

Machu Picchu’s section of their video was very emotional.  Hearing their memories, impassioned descriptions of the stonework, and seeing the mythic misty imagery…  Howard’s online portrait is a fantastic first step towards realistic armchair tourism, with no ecological damage.

Tomorrow, I sing the body electro.